top of page

Block B … Road Block

2018 did not start out quite how I imagined. In the 2 World Cup races in early January, I made big mistakes, pushing me way back from where I wanted to be. We started in Lackenhoff, Austria with rainy training but a beautiful salted slope for the race. Before the second event we had some more unfavourable weather for training … lots and lots of snow. The second event took place in Bad Gastein, Austria which has been a stop on the tour for a very long time. It was a great experience to be there for my first time, even with a disappointing result. We then returned to our ‘Europe home-base’ in San Vigilio, Italy where we trained with the Italian team for a couple of days. These training sessions were very successful with big improvements being made. Our next event was a 7 hour drive away, on Jan 20-21 in Rogla, Slovenia. I was really looking forward to this venue. 2 days before the race, I started my day as usual with a few warm up runs before jumping into the course. While riding, I injured my shoulder during a turn. Thankfully our team’s physio was able to take me to the hospital. I was not able to race the following days and decided to cut my trip short to go home and see my doctor.

After a busy couple of weeks back home with appointments and meetings, my shoulder will need surgery and I will not be riding for the remainder of this season. It had been a tough season for me even before this injury but every day I felt I was moving forward, step by step. This road block will be quite an obstacle but it has definitely given me even more determination to come back stronger. I plan to take all the experiences I had this year (both good and bad) with me for the years ahead. Even with a rough season, I can say I am incredibly proud of how far I have come and how much I’ve learned in the last 2 years. At 15, I never imagined I would be traveling the world, racing World Cups at 17 years old. I’m keeping my head up and committing myself to a full recovery. Thank you for your continued support throughout all the ups and the downs. I’ll be back soon and better than ever. This is just the beginning!


bottom of page