top of page

And so it begins...Block A

On December 2nd I headed to Europe to start the competition season. We flew into Munich and drove to Italy to settle in for a few days of training before the first competitions. After working off the jet-lag, I was ready to build up the speed and get ready to race. We travelled to Hochfügen, Austria for 2 Europa Cup events on December 9th and 10th. Even with lots of fresh snow and a big blizzard, they were still able to hold both events. Following the trip to Hochfügen, we drove back to Italy for the first 3 World Cups in Carezza and Cortina d’Ampezzo on December 14th, 15th, and 16th. We had sun, snow, and fog but that’s all part of racing.

Overall, this trip was a busy one… lots of busy days and moving around! With the progress I had been making in my training, I was disappointed that I couldn’t bring it out on race day. However, even without results I had hoped for, the events were a great experience where I learned many things to carry through into the next block. I am looking forward to continuing to build upon my abilities in training and I will be flying in full speed to Block B! I will definitely be adding Italy to my list of favourite places to board! The spectacular views, great conditions and amazing food never got tiring! I’m excited to be back home for the holidays and some time to reflect and recharge before the new year! I’m determined to make 2018 the best year yet!

Wishing every a safe and happy holiday,

Kaylie Buck

bottom of page