top of page

My Journey

My name is Jennifer Hawkrigg, otherwise known as JJ. I was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario and at the age of 4, I was taught to snowboard by my mother. I was determined to keep up with her two older siblings at our home club in Ellicottville, New York. It was a competitive battleground to say the least!

I eventually joined the Holimont Snowboard Race Team when I was 10. I competed and trained out of Holimont for 7 years before joining the Ontario Snowboard Team in Collingwood for the remainder of my high school years.

I have been competing on the NORAM circuit, as well as Junior World Championships since I was 15. In 2014, I won the title of Canada’s Junior National Champion and have been on multiple NORAM podiums.

This year, I became a member of the Canada Snowboards National Development Team for Alpine Snowboarding. I have been a student at Ryerson University studying commerce since 2015 while juggling competing and training full time. When I became a member of the National Development Team, I made the decision to take a step back from my full time program to commit to racing for this upcoming season. My ultimate goal is to compete at the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympics!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page